"Sign Language regulation" adopted by all regional assemblies

March 4, 2016  

There is an assembly in 1,741 municipal districts across the country.  

The opinion documents asking for the establishment of "Sign Language regulation" that places sign language as an independent language equal to Japanese were finally adopted by all the regional assemblies on March 3.

Out of 47 prefectures, Tottori, Kanagawa and Gunma have already adopted a Sign Language regulation.

Even if an opinion document were all present by the regional assemblies, Government is negative toward legal establishment.

Japanese sources:

No comments: